Williams Libraries

Annotated Bibliographies: Home

Learn what an annotated bibliography is and how to create one.

 

Other ways to get help:

Email us

Call us:

Text us at 413-648-6071

Stop by:

Writing an Annotated Bibliography

An annotated bibliography is a bibliography that includes a brief descriptive and evaluative paragraph after each citation. The purpose of the annotation is to inform the reader of the relevance, accuracy, and quality of the source cited.

Level of Detail
Some annotated bibliographies will call for a cursory description in preparation for a research project, while others will require more detailed analysis. Ask your professor about the level of detail needed in the annotations.

Organization
Bibliographies are traditionally arranged by Author and then Title or Year, and this arrangement can be used for annotated bibliographies as well. However, it may make more sense to organize an annotated bibliography thematically or chronologically. Use your own judgement, or ask your professor for guidance.

Formatting Citations
When you store your citations and notes in a citation manager, it takes care of the formatting, allowing you to concentrate on research and analysis.

You can also organize your bibliography in different ways, such as by author, title, or even chronologically.  This can be especially useful if you are following an artist's career or the history of research on a topic. 

You can import records from most of our databases in just a few clicks, and export to Word just as easily. Once you start using a citation manager, you'll wonder how you ever lived without it.

For more information, see the citation guide or Ask A Librarian.

Examples

An example from Abstract Expressionist Women Painters: An Annotated Bibliography:

For more examples, search the library catalog for the keyword phrase annotated bibliography in the title.

Worksheet

Use this sheet to help you organize your thoughts while looking at a source you plan to include in an annotated bibliography. Use one sheet per source.

Make EndNote do it!

You can modify a citation style in EndNote to include your annotations automagically.