Research Guides: Africana Studies 310: Resources

Africana Studies Database

Black Studies Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1902-Present
Contains summaries of articles in the field of Black Studies from scholarly journals and newsletters published in the U.S., Africa, and the Caribbean.

Other Subject-Specific Databases

The library subscribes to many databases, which are categorized on the full database list by subject. Consider what area(s) would study your research topic. For example:

Try the databases listed as "Best Bets."

General/Multi-Disciplinary Databases

ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Searches across a wide variety of types of sources including scholarly journals, magazines, historical and current newspapers, dissertations, and more. Coverage is multidisciplinary. Great place to start a research project.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly articles, books, conference papers, and more. Modify your Google Scholar settings to access library-provided full text.

Search the Library Catalog

Find books, articles, & more

Searching and Browsing

Start in the library catalog

Do a few keyword searches in the library catalog
Once you find a relevant book, click on the Details link and look at the Subjects to find similar items
When you click on a subject, it will run a new search on that topic

Browse the shelves
Books are organized on the shelves according to topic, so once you find a promising source, you can:

use the Virtual Browse link in the library catalog to see other possibly relevant books around it
or go to the shelves to browse physically