Research Guides: American Studies 101: Using Reference Sources

Subject Librarian

he/they

Contact:

mes4@williams.edu
Research Services, Sawyer Library

Subjects: Africana Studies, American Studies, Art History, Asian Studies, Classics, Film and Media Studies, Latina/o Studies, Music, Women's Gender & Sexuality Studies

Research Tip: Use Reference Sources

Use Reference Sources

Begin your research by using reference sources to get:

ideas for your paper
overviews of a topic
a list of recommended resources

Go beyond Wikipedia by using librarian-recommended reference sources.

Multi-Disciplinary Reference Sources

The following resources include online encyclopedias and dictionaries in a variety of subject areas. These are good sources to get quick, authoritative background information.

Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window

American History and Culture

The following encyclopedias are compiled by scholars of American history and culture. Keep in mind that reference works take time to compile and are a product of their editors/editorial boards. Read the preface and look at the table of contents to determine what topics are included/excluded.

Encyclopedia of American Studies
Covers the history, philosophy, arts, and cultures of the United States in relation to the world, from pre-colonial days to the present, from various perspectives and the global American Studies movement. Open access resource published by Johns Hopkins University Press for the American Studies Association.
Dictionary of American History
A standard reference work in United States history. Covers prehistory to 2002. Also available in print (SAWYER REFERENCE E174 .D52 2003).
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History
Covers all aspects of the African American experience from 1619 to the present day in the U.S. and throughout the Western hemisphere. Articles are signed by experts in the field and are accompanied by a selected bibliography. The appendix contains statistical data and a selection of primary source documents.
Encyclopedia of American Indian History
Four-volume encyclopedia provides brief essays on historical time periods from pre-contact to 2000, issues, events, culture, government, groups and peoples. Also includes a selection of primary sources.
Asian American History and Culture: An Encyclopedia
Covers the political, social, and cultural history of Asians in America from earliest contact to the present day. Examines the myriad ethnic groups and histories that make up the Asian American population in the United States.