Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About Scholarly Reviews
Scholarly reviews are written for scholars by scholars. These reviews place the book within the scholarly discourse, compare the book to other works in the field, and analyze the author's methodology, interpretations, and conclusions. Due to this amount of engagement with the book, reviews of academic titles may appear two or three years after publication of the book.
The searches in most of the databases below will find scholarly book reviews in addition to general interest and critical reviews. Scholarly reviews will be published in journals, and tend to be longer and more recent.
Best Bet Library Databases
Search engine for materials in the Williams Libraries. Includes books and a selection of articles. To find book reviews, search for the book title and limit to "Resource Type: Reviews." The catalog record for the book may also provide a link to book reviews.
Book Review Index (Gale Literature)
Publication Dates: 1965-Present
Includes reviews of English-language fiction, non-fiction, and children's books in all formats. Covers more reviewing sources than Book Review Digest.
Web of Science
Publication Dates: 1900-present for sciences and social sciences; 1975-present for arts and humanities.
Resources for Recent Reviews
In addition to the resources below, see also subject databases related to the discipline of the book.
Academic OneFile Select (Gale)
Publication Dates: 1980-Present
Includes articles from magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals.
Book Review Digest
Publication Dates: 1983-Present
Includes reviews of fiction and non-fiction English-language books from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers.
Resources for Older Reviews
Book Review Digest Retrospective
Publication Dates: 1905-1982
Includes reviews of English-language books from scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers. Good for general interest and older reviews.
Publication Dates: varies by journal title
Research Tip: Book Review Searching
Book Review Searching
- Search for the title of the book, enclosed in quotation marks ("World's Best Book")
- If the title is not very distinctive, add the author's last name
- Look for limit to "book review" or add search term "review"