Research Guides: Latina/o Studies 420: Journal Articles

Search the Library Catalog

Find books, articles, & more

Social Sciences

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1954-Present
Historical Time Period: Prehistory-Present.
Covers the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada. Contains summaries of scholarly articles, dissertations, and book reviews.
Women and Social Movements in the United States This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1600-2000
Provides the full text of primary sources from document projects and archives.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides access to academic journals in the fields of humanities and social sciences.
PAIS International This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1915-Present
Includes brief information about articles, books, websites, and government documents that cover global public policy, social issues, and the social sciences.
Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1960s-Present
Lists articles and books about the Mexican-American experience from the 1960s-Present. Since 1992 covers the broader Latino experience in the U.S.

Research Tip: Find Text Button

The Find Text Button

Many of our databases have this button, which searches for the full-text of the article in our collections. If we don't have it electronically, look for the "Request article scan" link in the "Get It" section.

Subject Specific

Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1960-Present
Covers agriculture and environmental science. Includes scholarly and trade journals, conference papers reports, wire feeds, working papers, and more.
Environment Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1975-Present
Provides brief summaries of scientific and scholarly material published worldwide, encompassing all aspects of the impact of people and technology on the environment.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Covers topics such as climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, in scholarly, government and general-interest titles.
Environment Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1975-Present
Provides brief summaries of scientific and scholarly material published worldwide, encompassing all aspects of the impact of people and technology on the environment.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1966-Present
Searches biomedical literature, life sciences, health, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. Links to other NCBI molecular biology resources.

Research Tip: Unpaywall

Use Unpaywall

image of laptop woth green unpaywall icon, indicating the article is available for free

Unpaywall is an open database of millions of free scholarly articles. It includes open access content from over 50,000 publishers and repositories, and makes it easy to find, track, and use.

After you install the browser extension, look for the icon to see if what you want is available for free.

Get the browser extension.