Research Guides: Environmental Studies 249: Government & Industry

Subject Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Research Services
Sawyer Library

413-597-4321
hop1@williams.edu
Pronouns: they/them/their(s)

Subjects: Dance, English, Environmental Studies, Global Studies, Jewish Studies, Justice and Law, Leadership Studies, Literature, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion, Studio Art, Theatre

Government/Legal/Policy

United Nations - Official Document System
The Official Document System (ODS) is an online database of UN documents. ODS has full-text, born-digital UN documents published from 1993 onward, including documents of the Security Council, the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council and their subsidiaries, as well as administrative issuances and other documents. ODS is maintained by the Office of Information and Communications Technology (OICT).

Congressional Publications This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1789-Present
Provides U.S. congressional documents covering the full legislative process. Includes congressional debates (the Congressional Record), bills, laws, hearings, committee prints, and reports.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Provides the full text of law reviews, Congressional and treaty documents, and U.S. legal material from the 18th century to the present.

MuckRock
MuckRock is a non-profit, collaborative news site that brings together journalists, researchers, activists, and regular citizens to request, analyze, and share government documents, making politics more transparent and democracies more informed. The site provides a repository of hundreds of thousands of pages of original government materials, information on how to file requests, and tools to make the requesting process easier, as well as original investigative reporting and analysis.

Business/Industry

Business (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1980-Present
Searches general business and finance magazines, trade journals, and local business journals. Also includes company profiles and investment reports.
Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Find profiles of American and international companies. Uncheck Hoover's to find US and worldwide industry marketing reports.

Trade

World Trade Organization Dispute Settlement WTO's gateway site for links to documents relating to trade disputes among WTO members. WTO documents are searchable.

North American Free Trade Secretariat (NAFTA)
Select "dispute settlement" for links to decisions, awards and related documents.

Central American-Dominican Republic Free Trade Agreement (CAFTA-DR)
Select "dispute settlement" for provisions regarding dispute resolutions.

United Nations Commission on International Trade Law (UNCITRAL)
"A legal body with universal membership specializing in commercial law reform worldwide for over 40 years. UNCITRAL's business is the modernization and harmonization of rules on international business."