Publication Dates: 1980s-Present
Searches the full text of five major US newspapers: Chicago Tribune, New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post. Content added daily by 8 a.m.
Publication Dates: 1990-Present
Includes full text of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press in the United States. Coverage is national and regional.
Publication Dates: late 1990s-Present
Searches across the full text of international newspapers and newswires. Includes English and non-English titles. Does not include images and graphics.
Publication Dates: Last 90 days
Contains international newspapers as they appear on the newsstand on the day they are published. Includes many non-English newspapers.
Publication Dates: 1994-2013
Continues FBIS database. Contains full text of English translations of foreign broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals and government statements, covering policy and politics important to U.S. interests.
Publication Dates: 1941-1996
Contains full text of English translations of foreign broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals and government statements, covering policy and politics important to US interests.
Publication Dates: 1968-Present
Searches descriptions of major U.S. network television evening news broadcasts and special news programs. Includes online videos for CNN and NBC evening news.
Publication Dates: 1980-Present
Includes articles from magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals. Multidisciplinary coverage. Good place to start a research project.
Publication Dates: 1991-Present
Contains summaries of articles from alternative, radical and left magazines and journals. Use to research topics not covered well in the mainstream press.
Publication Dates: 1890-Present
Includes articles from popular and general interest magazines published in the U.S. and Canada. Searches the Readers' Guide Abstracts and Readers' Guides Retrospective databases together; for more search functionality search each separately.
Searches across a wide variety of types of sources including scholarly journals, magazines, historical and current newspapers, dissertations, and more. Coverage is multidisciplinary. Great place to start a research project.
Research Tip: Searching Newspapers
Tip #17: Searching Full-text Newspapers
Think like a journalist. What words would they use?
Use the vocabulary in use at the time. (e.g., Water-closets instead of Toilets, Aeroplanes instead of Airplanes)
Combine synonyms with OR to increase results. (e.g., conservatives OR right-wing)
Use the asterisk (*) to get multiple endings of a word. (e.g., integrat* for integrate, integration, integrating, etc.)
To get words closer together, use proximity operators. (See the database's help page for correct syntax.)
Limit your search to "abstract" or "citation and abstract" (if available) to get more precise results.
