Research Guides: Political Science 314: News & Magazines

Newspapers

Ethnic NewsWatch
Publication Dates: 1990-Present
Includes full text of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press in the United States. Coverage is national and regional.
Nexis Uni - News
Provides access to full-text articles from U.S. national and regional news sources as well as English-language news sources from around the world.
ProQuest Newspapers: U.S. Major Dailies
Publication Dates: 1980s-Present
Searches the full text of five major US newspapers: Chicago Tribune, New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post. Content added daily by 8 a.m.
AP Newsroom
Publication Dates: 1844-Present
Current and historical archive of photographs, graphics, audio, and text created by the Associated Press.

Think like a journalist. What words would they use?
Use the vocabulary in use at the time. (e.g., Water-closets instead of Toilets, Aeroplanes instead of Airplanes)
Combine synonyms with OR to increase results. (e.g., conservatives OR right-wing)
Use the asterisk (*) to get multiple endings of a word. (e.g., integrat* for integrate, integration, integrating, etc.)
To get words closer together, use proximity operators. (See the database's help page for correct syntax.)
Limit your search to "abstract" or "citation and abstract" (if available) to get more precise results.

African American Newspapers (ProQuest Black Historical Newspapers)
Searches text and images of the following influential Black newspapers: Chicago Defender (1909-1975), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002).
ProQuest Historical Newspapers (US)
Searches across the full text and images of major U.S. and Black historical newspapers. Includes New York Times, Boston Globe, Chicago Defender, L.A. Times, and more.
Alternative Press Archive
Publication Dates: 1969-1990
Contains summaries of articles from alternative, radical and left magazines and journals. Use to research topics not covered well in the mainstream press.

Vanderbilt Television News Archive
Publication Dates: 1968-Present
Searches descriptions of major U.S. network television evening news broadcasts and special news programs. Includes online videos for CNN and NBC evening news.
Internet Archive
Contains archived web pages, texts, audio, moving images, television news, and software digitized by libraries, archives, and Internet Archive users.

Academic OneFile Select (Gale)
Publication Dates: 1980-Present
Includes articles from magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals. Multidisciplinary coverage. Good place to start a research project.
Alternative Press Index
Publication Dates: 1991-Present
Contains summaries of articles from alternative, radical and left magazines and journals. Use to research topics not covered well in the mainstream press.
Readers' Guide [Combined]
Publication Dates: 1890-Present
Includes articles from popular and general interest magazines published in the U.S. and Canada. Searches the Readers' Guide Abstracts and Readers' Guides Retrospective databases together; for more search functionality search each separately.
ProQuest
Searches across a wide variety of types of sources including scholarly journals, magazines, historical and current newspapers, dissertations, and more. Coverage is multidisciplinary. Great place to start a research project.
Black Studies Periodicals
Publication Dates: 1902-Present
Contains summaries of articles in the field of Black Studies from scholarly journals and newsletters published in the U.S., Africa, and the Caribbean.

ProQuest US Newsstream
Publication Dates: 1980s-present
Includes full text of U.S. newspapers (major dailies, regional, and local), newswires, blogs, and news sites.

Today's Front Page (Newseum)
Through a special agreement with more than 800 newspapers worldwide, the Newseum displays the front pages each day on its website. The front pages are in their original, unedited form, and includes a link to the newspaper's website. Also includes an archive of selected significant events.

News (Gale OneFile)
Publication Dates: 1990s-present
Includes full text of U.S. newspapers (major dailies, regional, and local), newswires, blogs, and news sites