Research Guides: PSCI 314: How Change Happens in America: Gov't/Legal

Government

Congress.gov
Publication Dates: 1993-Present
Contains comprehensive legislative information on Congress, including full text of the Congressional Record and bills.
Congressional Publications
Publication Dates: 1789-Present
Provides U.S. congressional documents covering the full legislative process. Includes congressional debates (the Congressional Record), bills, laws, hearings, committee prints, and reports.
American Presidency Project
Publication Dates: 1789-Present
Provides a searchable archive of every U.S. President's oral and written communications, party platforms, state-level presidential election returns, and much more.
Project Vote Smart
Contains voting records, issue positions, interest group ratings, and information about campaign finances for political candidates and office-holders at every level.
OpenSecrets.org
Publication Dates: 1997 - current
Provides a comprehensive, searchable database for information on campaign contributions, lobbying data and analysis.
Health & Environmental Research Online (HERO)
Provides public access to and brief summaries of the research the Environmental Protection Agency uses to inform its decisions.

HeinOnline
Provides the full text of law reviews, Congressional and treaty documents, and U.S. legal material from the 18th century to the present.
Nexis Uni
Includes the full text of national and international news articles and transcripts, legal documents (including court cases), and company profiles.

LegiScan
LegiScan launched to support the release of the national LegiScan data service, providing the real-time legislative tracking service designed for both public citizens and government professionals. Provides monitoring of every bill in the 50 states and Congress, and links to state government portals.