Biology 455: Off-Campus Access

Neural Regeneration
Martha Marvin
Spring 2021

Accessing the Online Library from Off Campus

Run Time: 1:13

For a text version of this video and further information, see our Off-Campus Access page. See also Studying Away.

Research Tip: Finding Ebooks

Finding Ebooks

You can find ebooks in the library catalog by doing a search for a topic, title, or author, and filtering your search results by:

  • Availability: Full Text Online and Open Access
  • Resource Type: Books

See a demo:

You can also search directly in ebook provider platforms.

Research Tip: Use Local Resources

Use Local & State Resources

When you aren't at Williams, take advantage of resources that are in your own backyard!

  • Get a Boston Public Library ecard
    • It provides remote access to online resources including audiobook and ebooks, streaming videos, and primary source databases
    • Anyone who lives, works, or goes to school in Massachusetts can get a card
  • Check out the website of your local public library or a big public library in your state
    • Their collections may provide access to ebooks and databases not available at Williams
  • Look for the visitor policy page of local colleges and universities
    • Many libraries allow free onsite access to their print and online collections (though they may limit access during the COVID-19 pandemic)
    • Some libraries charge a fee for access and/or borrowing
    • Contact a Williams librarian if you need an official letter to access a library

Research Tip: Request Scans and Ebooks

Request Scans and Delivery

We are working hard to provide access to the materials you need. You can request:

Research Tip: EZ-Proxy browser extension

EZproxy Browser Extension

EZproxy is software that helps you connect to library resources from off-campus. Most of the time, it operates behind the scenes, like when you connect to something through the library catalog or A-Z List.

Use the browser extension when:

  • You follow a link or citation and hit a paywall
  • You prefer to start your research on the open web instead of using a library search tool

Get the extension:

Research Tip: Unpaywall

Use Unpaywall

image of laptop woth green unpaywall icon, indicating the article is available for freeUnpaywall is an open database of millions of free scholarly articles. It includes open access content from over 50,000 publishers and repositories, and makes it easy to find, track, and use.
 
After you install the browser extension, look for the icon to see if what you want is available for free.