Biology 455: Finding Full Text

Neural Regeneration
Martha Marvin
Spring 2021

Finding full text

The Find Text button (see below) lets you know whether full text is available. It opens new tab or window, taking you into the library catalog and showing options for accessing the resource under Get It. If one or more links appear under Get It, click any link with the correct date range access the item you want. 

If no links appear under Get It and a yellow sign-in bar appears on the record page, log in with your Williams unix credentials and click “Request Scan” to request a copy through interlibrary loan (ILL).

You can also try Googling the citation: sometimes, copyrighted material is freely available on the web. Many journals are free, such as PNAS & PLoS. Some free versions of articles are preprints, with the figures at the end; these are acceptable.

Research Tip: Find Text Button

The Find Text Button

Many of our databases have this SFX Find Text Button button, which searches for the full-text of the article in our collections. If we don't have it electronically, look for the "Request article scan" link in the "Get It" section.

screenshot of Get It section with link

Choosing Keywords

Run Time: 3:45

Need help? You can ask!

 

 

Don't want to chat? See: Other ways to get help

Research Tip: Unpaywall

Use Unpaywall

image of laptop woth green unpaywall icon, indicating the article is available for freeUnpaywall is an open database of millions of free scholarly articles. It includes open access content from over 50,000 publishers and repositories, and makes it easy to find, track, and use.
 
After you install the browser extension, look for the icon to see if what you want is available for free.