Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Best Bet Library Databases
Use the databases below to find scholarly articles on a topic.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1954-Present
Historical Time Period: Prehistory-Present.
Covers the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada. Contains summaries of scholarly articles, dissertations, and book reviews.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1953-Present
Historical Time Period: 15th century-Present
Covers world history and culture (excluding U.S. and Canada). Contains summaries of scholarly articles, books, and more.
Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1960s-Present
Lists articles and books about the Mexican-American experience from the 1960s-Present. Since 1992 covers the broader Latino experience in the U.S.
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Searches across Black Studies databases that include scholarly essays, magazine articles, historical newspaper articles, literary works, reference books, and much more.
Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: Early 19th century-Present
Includes the non-fiction writings of major Black leaders. Can browse or search by nationality, gender, occupation, people/events mentioned, and more.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1970-Present
Includes newspaper and magazine articles, as well as reviews and scholarly journal articles. Start here if you have a pop culture topic.
America: History and Life Search Tips
- Start your search by doing keyword searches.
- Look at the subject headings of relevant records to determine the terminology used in the database for your topic.
- Combine the keywords "review article" or "historiography" with your topic to find analyses of the scholarship on your topic.
- Use the Language Limit to remove items in languages you cannot read.
- Use the Historical Period limit to narrow your search to the time period you are researching.
If you are researching a lesser-known person, place, or event, you may want to search the full-text e-journals collections below.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles in leading academic journals and books in the fields of humanities, social sciences and sciences.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides access to academic journals in the fields of humanities and social sciences.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Research Tip: Find Text Button
The Find Text Button
Many of our databases have this button, which searches for the full-text of the article in our collections. If we don't have it electronically, look for the "Request article scan" link in the "Get It" section.