Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Suggested Article Databases
Core databases for HIST and ASIA
Publication Dates: 1953-Present
Historical Time Period: 15th century-Present
Covers world history and culture (excluding U.S. and Canada). Contains summaries of scholarly articles, books, and more.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Publication Dates: 1971-Present
Covers topics in Asian history and culture for all historical time periods. Searches authors, titles, and subjects of articles, books, and book chapters.
Additional databases (will vary based on the topic of research)
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Publication Dates: 1930-Present
Includes brief information about articles in the fields of architecture, design, urban planning, and other related areas.
MLA International Bibliography
Publication Dates: 1926-Present
Covers language, literature, linguistics, and related areas such as film and television. Includes references to journal articles, book chapters, and dissertations.
Art Index [Combined]
Publication Dates: 1929-Present
Searches Art Index and Art Abstracts together. Includes scholarly articles in art, architecture, and other related subjects, with an emphasis on Western art.
Publication Dates: 1975-Present
Provides brief summaries of scientific and scholarly material published worldwide, encompassing all aspects of the impact of people and technology on the environment.
The full list of library databases is available on the library website: Doing Research --- E-Resources/Database). You can identify databases by Subject or by Database Type type. For help identifying the most relevant database(s) consult with a librarian.
To find resources about Tokyo in the Williams library use the library catalog:
To identifying additional resources not at Williams but that can be borrowed through interlibrary loan, use Worldcat.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Publication Dates: 1861-Present
Provides information about dissertations and theses from leading academic institutions worldwide. Includes dowloadable full text since 1997.