SOC 335: Nowheres: Collections of Primary Sources

Primary sources focused on history, medieval studies, politics, British imperialism, African-American culture, gender and more, collected from library archives worldwide.

Publication Dates: 1665-1988
Contains primary source collections documenting the history of Native peoples in the United States and Canada.

Provides access to significant historical primary sources from UNESCO member countries. Includes manuscripts, maps, rare books, recordings, films, photographs, and more.

Publication Dates: 1900-Present
Offers free online access to videos, stills, texts and audio from European broadcasters and audiovisual archives.

Coverage Date: 1947 -2013
Meet the Press Broadcasts

Publication Dates: 1940s to 21st century
Provides online access to historic public broadcasting radio and television content.

Contains statistical tables related to worldwide progress on social issues and economic development.

Dates: 1790 - for USA; 1960- for Africa, Asia, Europe, and Latin America
Contains microdata samples from 94 countries including population censuses and health surveys. Requires free registration for full functionality.

Publication Dates: 1986-Present
Provides a searchable data archive of polls from around the world.

Contains public opinion data, including polls from Gallup, CNN, ABC, NBC, CBS, Fox News, General Social Surveys and many other major polling organizations.

Contains world-wide opinion surveys and polls on social policy issues.

Publication Dates: 1946-Present
Contains texts of treaties to which U.N. member nations are party.

Publication Dates: 1890s-Present
Includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage.

Contains streamed documentary and feature films. International coverage.

Publication Dates: 1969-Present
Contains summaries of articles from alternative, radical and left magazines and journals. Use to research topics not covered well in the mainstream press. Searches Alternative Press Archive and Alternative Press Index together.

Publication Dates: 1844-Present
Current and historical archive of photographs, graphics, audio, and text created by the Associated Press.

Publication Dates: 1990-Present
Includes full text of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press in the United States. Coverage is national and regional.

Publication Dates: 1941-1996
Contains full text of English translations of foreign broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals and government statements, covering policy and politics important to US interests.

Searches across the full text of Chinese Historical Newspapers, The Guardian and Observer, Jerusalem Post, and Times of India.

Publication Dates: late 1990s-Present
Searches across the full text of international newspapers and newswires. Includes English and non-English titles. Does not include images and graphics.

Publication Dates: 1994-2013
Continues FBIS database. Contains full text of English translations of foreign broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals and government statements, covering policy and politics important to U.S. interests.