Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Sociology 335 - Nowheres: Session #1 - Activities

Professor Phi Su
Fall 2021

Activity #1: Call Numbers

Goal: Compare the call numbers of each book

The four following books are about about Somaliland and are in the library collection.

       Book 1                   Book 2                      Book 3                       Book 4 

  • Click on the links to open the catalog record for each book
  • Take note of the call number for each book 
  • Why do these books all about Somaliland have different call numbers ? 
  • What is the impact of this? 

   

Activity #2: Library Classification

Goal: Learn about the Library of Congress Classification 

Table 1:Book 1                 Table 2: Book 2               Table 3: Book 3             Table 4: Book 4 

  • Go to the Library of Congress Classification Outline: https://www.loc.gov/catdir/cpso/lcco/
  • Locate the class for your book 
  • Look at how the class is organized 
  • What are your thoughts about this organization? Any surprises? 
  • Be prepared to share the highlights of your discussion with the large group 

Activity #3: Subject Headings

Goal: Compare the Library of Congress Subject Headings assigned to each book 

         Book 1                   Book 2                      Book 3                       Book 4 

  • Click on the links to open the catalog record for each book
  • Look at the subject headings assigned to each book
  • What are the differences in subject headings from book to book? 
  • Any reactions? 

Activity #4: Subject Databases

Goal: Look at subject headings in subject databases 

  • Go the library's list of E-resources & Databases (A-Z list) 
  • Open the two databases assigned to your table: 
    • Table 1: Anthropology Index
                   International Political Science Abstracts
    • Table 2: Sociological Abstracts
                    Historical Abstracts 
    • Table 3: Anthropology Index
                   International Political Science Abstracts
    • Table 4: Sociological Abstracts
                    Historical Abstracts 
       
  • Working as a group, discuss: 
    • What is covered in each database (subjects, type of sources) 
    • How is the structure of the subject headings different from what we saw in the library subject headings? 
  • Be prepared to share the highlights of your discussion with the large group