Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Psychology 404: Finding Articles

Bias and Discrimination: Sources and Consequences
Stephanie Cardenas
Fall 2021

Finding Articles

Scholarly articles: 

  • provide background on your research
  • put your research in context
  • support the results of your research.

Review the differences between scholarly and popular articles, see how scholarly articles are organized and review the process of peer-review:

 

Research Tip: Find Text Button

The Find Text Button

Many of our databases have this SFX Find Text Button button, which searches for the full-text of the article in our collections. If we don't have it electronically, look for the "Request article scan" link in the "Get It" section.

screenshot of Get It section with link

Search PsycInfo

Search Web of Science

 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Search PubMed

  

Additional Article Sources

In addition, try searching non-science databases that relate to your research topic.  For example, if you are writing about the developing skills in children using computers, first search a broad database like Web of Science and then search a subject specific database such as the education database called ERIC.  

Articles on the same topic from different disciplines can offer different perspectives and different points of view. 

A complete list of article databases by subject area is provided.  Database search tips can help narrow your search and make your results more relevant. 

Need help? You can ask!

 

 

Don't want to chat? See: Other ways to get help