Research Guides: Theatre 305: Reference Sources

Costume Design Reference

The Historical Encyclopedia of Costumes by Albert Racinet
Call Number: Sawyer Reference GT510 .R3313 1988
Publication Date: 1988
Encyclopedia of World Costume by Doreen Yarwood; Random House Value Publishing Staff
Call Number: Sawyer Reference GT507 .Y37 1986
Publication Date: 1988
Costume language : a dictionary of dress terms by Stephanie Curtis Davies
Call Number: Sawyer Reference GT507 .D38 1994
Publication Date: 1994

More resources available to browse under the subject headings Costume design and Costume

Historical Context

Chronology of World History
Call Number: SAWYER REFERENCE D11 .M39 1999
Lists important events in politics, government, and economics; science, technology and medicine; arts and ideas; and society from pre-history to 1998. Arranged by year and day.
Dictionary of American History
A standard reference work in United States history. Covers prehistory to 2002. Also available in print (SAWYER REFERENCE E174 .D52 2003).
Encyclopedia of American Social History
Call Number: SAWYER REFERENCE HN57 .E58 1993
Provides information on ethnic and racial subcultures; regionalism and regional subcultures; patterns of everyday life; work and labor; and popular culture and recreation. Few illustrations.
Encyclopedia of European Social History
Call Number: SAWYER REFERENCE HN373 .E63 2001
Contains information about social structure; culture and popular culture; recreation and leisure; and everyday life. Some illustrations.

For additional sources, browse the reference collection or stacks. To find the appropriate call number range to browse, consult the Library of Congress Classification Outline for history:

The Arts

Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Includes biographies and reference articles on all genres of music, musicians, and musical instruments.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the Grove Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, among other titles. Includes information on all aspects of art and an image collection.

Encyclopedia of World Art
Call Number: SAWYER REFERENCE N31 .E6
Contains articles on all types of art including paintings, architecture, furniture, and household objects. Use index volume to see full range of information for a particular country. Plates of illustrations are at the end of each volume.

Biographical Sources

Biography (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Includes biographical profiles from reference sources, newspapers, magazines, and journals. Covers all time periods and areas of the world.

American National Biography
Call Number: SAWYER REFERENCE & CHAPIN LIBRARY E176 .A447 1999
Contains biographical profiles of people who died prior to 1996. Includes people whose significant actions took place while living in what is today the United States or whose life/career had a direct influence on the course of American history.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Call Number: SAWYER REFERENCE DA28 .O95 2004 and Online
Contains biographies of men and women who have shaped all aspects of the British past, from the earliest times to the end of the year 2000.