Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dance Reference Sources
International Encyclopedia of Dance
Covers the full spectrum of dance—theatrical, ritual, dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance. Cultural and national overviews are accompanied by entries on dance forms, music and costumes, performances, and biographies of dancers and choreographers.
General Reference Sources
MoBBallet: Curating the Memoirs of Blacks in Ballet
Preserves, presents, and promotes the contributions and stories of Black artists in the field of ballet, illustrating that they are an integral part of dance history at large. Portions of The Constellation Project were researched by Williams dance students.
Biography (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Includes biographical profiles from reference sources, newspapers, magazines, and journals. Covers all time periods and areas of the world.
Chronology of World History
Call Number: SAWYER REFERENCE D11 .M39 1999
Lists important events in politics, government, and economics; science, technology and medicine; arts and ideas; and society from pre-history to 1998. Arranged by year and day.
Dictionary of American History
A standard reference work in United States history. Covers prehistory to 2002. Also available in print (SAWYER REFERENCE E174 .D52 2003).
Encyclopedia of American Social History
Call Number: SAWYER REFERENCE HN57 .E58 1993
Provides information on ethnic and racial subcultures; regionalism and regional subcultures; patterns of everyday life; work and labor; and popular culture and recreation. Few illustrations.
Encyclopedia of European Social History
Call Number: SAWYER REFERENCE HN373 .E63 2001
Contains information about social structure; culture and popular culture; recreation and leisure; and everyday life from 1350-2000. Some illustrations.