Research Guides: REL 358: Religion &amp; Law: Journal Articles

Best Bet Library Databases

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Includes a specific Religion and Law collection.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1970-Present
Includes newspaper and magazine articles, as well as reviews and scholarly journal articles. Start here if you have a pop culture topic.
Anthropological Literature This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: Early 19th Century-Present
Covers anthropology, archaeology and related disciplines (ethnic studies, religion, art history, psychology, economics). Includes scholarly articles and book reviews.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1954-Present
Historical Time Period: Prehistory-Present.
Covers the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada. Contains summaries of scholarly articles, dissertations, and book reviews.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1953-Present
Historical Time Period: 15th century-Present
Covers world history and culture (excluding U.S. and Canada). Contains summaries of scholarly articles, books, and more.
Academic OneFile Select (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1980-Present
Includes articles from magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals. Multidisciplinary coverage. Good place to start a research project.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Searches across a wide variety of types of sources including scholarly journals, magazines, historical and current newspapers, dissertations, and more. Coverage is multidisciplinary. Great place to start a research project.
Religion Index This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1949-Present
Contains brief information about articles, books, and essays covering religious topics based on religions around the world, and religious perspectives on various issues

Relevant Journal: The Journal of Law and Religion

The Journal of Law and Religion
Call Number: Online Access
Coverage: 1983-2021

Research Tip: Find Text Button

The Find Text Button

Many of our databases have this button, which searches for the full-text of the article in our collections. If we don't have it electronically, look for the "Request article scan" link in the "Get It" section.

Comparison of Popular Magazine and Scholarly Journal Articles

This table provides some criteria to help you distinguish between popular and scholarly sources. Look for a combination of factors to determine what type of source you have.

	Popular Magazines	Scholarly Journals
Authority	Written by journalists/staff writers. Name of writer may not be provided. Author may not have any background in the subject area.	Written by scholars/researchers. Name of writer always provided. Author has conducted research and has educational background in the subject area.
Audience and Purpose	Read by the general public. Written in easy to understand language. Content is written to inform, entertain, or persuade readers.	Read by scholars and researchers. Written with specialized vocabulary familiar to its readers. Content is written to share and analyze results of research and debate issues in the subject area.
Depth	Tend to be short (less than 5 pages). Provide overviews of the topic. May be heavily illustrated with photographs.	Tend to be long (more than 10 pages). Provide in-depth analysis of the topic. May include graphs and charts of research data.
Sources	May mention reports and studies in the text, but do not provide a full citation.	Have a bibliography and/or footnotes/endnotes, allowing the reader to verify sources used.
Examples	Time Sports Illustrated Glamour	JAMA Human Rights Quarterly Film Quarterly