Research Guides: ECON 381: Global Health Policy Challenges: Where to find interesting data?

Data, Data Everywhere!

If you know where to look, there is a great deal of data available for our research. However, sometimes we can get bogged down in governmental and administrative data. Here is a small collection of data sources that are a bit off the beaten track. Consider who else might be gathering data pertinent to your research? Where might that data be found?

Dataverse
A map of the 112 Dataverse installations around the world.
Poverty Action Lab's Research Resources
Provides access to the JPAL's library of datasets as well as practical guidance for using them.
Afrobarometer
A pan-African series of national public attitude surveys on democracy, governance, and society
IPUMS International
Harmonized international census data for social science and health research.
World Bank Microdata
The Microdata Library collects datasets from the World Bank as well as other national, regional, and international organizations.
IFPRI
The International Food Policy Research Institute's publication library. Searchable by keyword, publication type (dataset, report, article, etc), and date.
U.S. Millenium Challenge Corporation
Open data from the MCC's international projects and partnerships.
DataFirst
DataFirst collects and makes available data from South Africa and other African countries.
ICPSR Data Archive
ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. Search this site for holdings. Data downloads are free of charge by registering with an Williams email.
UK Data Service
The UK Data Service provides access to over 7,000 digital data collections for research and teaching purposes covering an extensive range of key economic and social data, both quantitative and qualitative, and spanning many disciplines and themes. Note: you will need to request a username. Only open data sets are generally available outside the UK.
Penn Population Studies Center
A repository of research projects undertaken by the Penn Arts and Sciences Population Studies Center.
UNC Carolina Population Center
A repository of research projects sortable by theme and searchable by keyword.
Humanitarian Data Exchange
An open platform for international and inter-organizational data sharing run by the UN's Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs.
SEDAC
The Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center is a part of NASA's Earth Observing System Data and Information System focusing on the connections between environmental and social sciences.
UNICEF Data
UNICEF's data team collects a robust and internationally comparable data on the situation of women and children globally. This data is organized topically, by country, and in a query-able warehouse.