Research Guides: PHLH 270: Healthcare Workers: Data and Statistics

A Note About U.S. Government Data and Information

As they work to comply with recent executive orders, some federal agencies have modified or removed access to federally funded data.

Many organizations are working together to archive critical research data. The document below from compiles current data rescue efforts and resources.

Federal Data Resources
A collection of federal data and information archiving efforts compiled by Research Services.

Start Here

Working with Data Guide
Williams Libraries' guide to finding and working with data. Includes a broad collection of data sources.

US Government

US Census Data
100,000+ data profiles covering states, counties, and tribal areas for education, employment, health, and housing.
FastStats
A-Z topic list of statistics and data available from U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
National Institute of Mental Health Statistics
Statistics on Mental Health created by the National Institute of Mental Health
National Center for Health Statistics
National Center for Health Statistics, part of the Center for Disease Control, is the federal department charged with gathering data about America's health.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
SAMHSA, an agency within the US Department of Health and Human Services, leads public health efforts to advance the behavioral health of the nation. Publications include:
- Key Substance Use and Mental Health Indicators in the United States, an annual report with results from National Survey on Drug Use and Health
- Behavioral Health Barometer, reports on a set of substance use and mental health indicators as measured through the National Survey on Drug Use and Health and the National Survey of Substance Abuse Treatment Services.

Statistics Databases

Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition
Provides summaries of U.S. social, economic, and education statistics from colonial times to 2000.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Publication Dates: 1878-2012
Contains summaries of U.S. social, economic, health, population, and educational statistics. The first stop for U.S. statistics.

Local Data

Berkshire Benchmarks

Health Statistics Guide @ Himmelfarb Health Sciences Library

Mega-guide on Health Statistics by the Himmelfarb Health Sciences Library at George Washington University. Amazing guide.

Health Statistics Guide @ Himmelfarb Health Sciences Library

NGO's

Kids Count Data Center
Datasets related to children's' wellbeing. Includes topics on health, COVID-19, education, and general demographics. Searchable by location. Created by the Annie E. Casey Foundation.
Kaiser Family Foundation State Health Facts
800 health indicators at the state level. Includes information on health costs, health coverage, and medicare.
Dartmouth Atlas Project
Interactive maps and charts describing how medical resources are distributed throughout the US.