Research Guides: PHLH 270: Healthcare Workers: Current Events

Newspapers and First-Person Perspective

Nexis Uni - News This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text articles from U.S. national and regional news sources as well as English-language news sources from around the world.
ProQuest Current Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searches US and international news. Includes US ethnic, minority, and native presses.
Oral History Online This link opens in a new window
Includes oral history transcripts, audio, and video of free and subscription-based oral history projects. Can search by characteristics of the speaker and events mentioned.
Alternative Press Index [Combined] This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1969-Present
Contains summaries of articles from alternative, radical and left magazines and journals. Use to research topics not covered well in the mainstream press. Searches Alternative Press Archive and Alternative Press Index together.

SEIU Healthcare
The Service Employees International Union Healthcare division representing more than 1 million healthcare workers.
UFCW Healthcare
The United Food and Commercial Workers International Union's healthcare division representing more than 55,000 healthcare workers.
National Union of Healthcare Workers
A worker-led organization representing more than 19,000 healthcare workers.

Berkshire Eagle Online
Publication Dates: Current year
Covers news for Berkshire County, Massachusetts.
Northern Berkshire Community Television
Provides public access television programs and production facilities for the citizens of North Adams, Adams, Clarksburg, and Cheshire.
Pittsfield Community Television
A community media organization serving Pittsfield, MA.
WAMC: Northeast Public Radio
NPR affiliate radio station with news coverage of the Berkshires and Capitol Region.