Research Guides: RLSP 210: Graphic Novels, Spain, and Economic Crisis: Researching Comics

Using the Library Catalog

Why use it?

The library catalog is a discovery service that searches for books and articles. It is a good place to start a search because:

Search Strategies

Search for known items (book titles, authors)
Examples of relevant Subject Headings:
- Comic books, strips, etc -- History and criticism
- Comic books, strips, etc -- Technique
- Graphic Novels

MLA International Bibliography
Publication Dates: 1926-Present Covers language, literature, linguistics, and related areas such as film and television. Includes references to journal articles, book chapters, and dissertations. Includes articles in Spanish.

Historical Abstracts
Publication Dates: 1953-Present
Historical Time Period: 15th century-Present
Covers world history and culture (excluding U.S. and Canada). Contains summaries of scholarly articles, books, and more.
Sociological Abstracts
Publication Dates: 1952-Present
Includes summaries of scholarly articles published in sociology journals and related fields (linguistics, economics, anthropology, law).
Handbook of Latin American Studies (Web)
Publication Dates: 1970-Present
Provides references to articles, books, chapters, and conference proceedings on topics related to Latin America. Includes materials in Spanish and Portuguese. Can limit results by language.

ARTBibliographies Modern
Publication Dates: 1979-Present
Includes summaries of journal articles, books, and essays about 20th- and 21st-century art.
Art Index [Combined]
Publication Dates: 1929-Present
Searches Art Index and Art Abstracts together. Includes scholarly articles in art, architecture, and other related subjects, with an emphasis on Western art.