Research Guides: GEOS 109: Geologic Hazards: Finding Articles

Using the Library Catalog

GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1785-Present
Searches geoscience scholarly journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. International in scope.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1900-Present
Searches the scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences and humanities. Includes a cited reference search to find articles that have cited a work.

Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1960-Present
Covers agriculture and environmental science. Includes scholarly and trade journals, conference papers reports, wire feeds, working papers, and more.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Covers topics such as climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, in scholarly, government and general-interest titles.
Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1998-Present
Contains the full text of published reports on climate change, organized by authoring body and date.
Sustainability Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1995-Present
Covers sustainable development, human population and demography topics, as well as societal issues involving natural resource management.
EIS: Digests of Environmental Impact Statements This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1985-Present
Provides detailed summaries of hundreds of environmental impact statements issued each year by the federal government.
PAIS International This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1915-Present
Includes brief information about articles, books, websites, and government documents that cover global public policy, social issues, and the social sciences.

The databases below are not strictly science0focused and will allow you to pull together relevant information from many disciplines.

Current Contents Connect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1998-Present
Provides table of contents for leading journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly articles, books, conference papers, and more. Modify your Google Scholar settings to access library-provided full text.
Academic OneFile Select (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1980-Present
Includes articles from magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals. Multidisciplinary coverage. Good place to start a research project.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Searches across a wide variety of types of sources including scholarly journals, magazines, historical and current newspapers, dissertations, and more. Coverage is multidisciplinary. Great place to start a research project.