DANC 226: Gender and the Dancing Body: Getting Started

Covers the full spectrum of dance—theatrical, ritual, dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance. Cultural and national overviews are accompanied by entries on dance forms, music and costumes, performances, and biographies of dancers and choreographers.

Each of the ten volumes are devoted to music and culture of a particular region of the world.

The Oxford Dictionary of Dance covers all aspects of the diverse dance world from classical ballet to modern, from flamenco to hip-hop, from tap to South Asian dance forms and includes detailed entries on technical terms, steps, styles, works and countries, in addition to many biographies of dancers, choreographers, and companies.

This dictionary provides clear and accessible definitions of a range of terms from within the fast-developing field of gender studies. It covers terms such as cyber feminism, the double burden, and the male gaze, and gender-focused definitions of more general terms, such as housework, intersectionality, and trolling.

This handbook provides a broad view of masculinities primarily across the social sciences, with the inclusion of important debates in some areas of the humanities and natural sciences.

This handbook charts intersectional and decolonial perspectives on race and gender research across North America, Europe, Latin America, the Caribbean, and South Africa, centering theoretical understandings of how these categories are imbricated and how they operate and mean individually and together.

Academic edition. Authoritative source for general background information.

Lists important events in politics, government, and economics; science, technology and medicine; arts and ideas; and society from pre-history to 1998. Arranged by year and day.

A standard reference work in United States history. Covers prehistory to 2002. Also available in print (SAWYER REFERENCE E174 .D52 2003).

Provides information on ethnic and racial subcultures; regionalism and regional subcultures; patterns of everyday life; work and labor; and popular culture and recreation. Few illustrations.

Contains information about social structure; culture and popular culture; recreation and leisure; and everyday life from 1350-2000. Some illustrations.