Research Guides: PHLH 351: Racism in Public Health: Getting Started

Research in Public Health

Part of the work you will do together this semester is exploring the public health information landscape through a variety of lenses. This tutorial asks you to begin contributing new voices to the collected resources in week 5 and to curate resources for later weeks. This guide is designed to support you in that work of seeking and evaluating information. On this page you'll find some helpful places to start your search. Other tabs include information on effective search strategies and frameworks for evaluating sources.

For information on writing your positionality and citational justice statements, see the Citational Justice tab.

Search the Library Catalog

Find books, articles, & more

Databases

Health and Medicine

Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile)
Publication Dates: 1995-Present
Searches articles in general interest health and fitness magazines, medical and professional periodicals, reference books and pamphlets.
PubMed
Publication Dates: 1966-Present
Searches biomedical literature, life sciences, health, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. Links to other NCBI molecular biology resources.
SciELO Citation Index
Publication Dates: 1997-Present
Contains open access journals from Latin America, Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and South Africa, focusing on science, medical research, and social sciences.
Web of Science
Publication Dates: 1900-Present
Searches the scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences and humanities. Includes a cited reference search to find articles that have cited a work.

Advancing Health Equity
The field of health equity, as a scholarly domain and as a central issue in medicine, has evolved a great deal in recent years. A lot has been learned, and important progress has been made; yet there is still much that is being debated. Just as we would when exploring any new topic or area of study, when we want to learn more about the science and evidence in a particular area, one of the first tasks is to find trusted resources, so that one can learn more. In that spirit, teams from the American Medical Association and the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) Center for Health Justice came together to produce this document, "Advancing Health Equity: A Guide to Language, Narrative and Concepts," providing physicians, health care workers and others a valuable foundational toolkit for health equity.
World Health Organization
WHO works worldwide to promote health, keep the world safe, and serve the vulnerable. Their goal is to ensure that a billion more people have universal health coverage, to protect a billion more people from health emergencies, and provide a further billion people with better health and well-being. On their website, find information about global health issues, specific epidemic diseases, and the intersections between disease and society.

Policy and Politics

Environment Abstracts
Publication Dates: 1975-Present
Provides brief summaries of scientific and scholarly material published worldwide, encompassing all aspects of the impact of people and technology on the environment.
PAIS International
Publication Dates: 1915-Present
Includes brief information about articles, books, websites, and government documents that cover global public policy, social issues, and the social sciences.

Anthropology and Sociology

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
Publication Dates: 1951-Present
Includes references to scholarly articles, books, book chapters, and reviews for the social sciences. Good international coverage.
ProQuest
Searches across a wide variety of types of sources including scholarly journals, magazines, historical and current newspapers, dissertations, and more. Coverage is multidisciplinary. Great place to start a research project.
PsycInfo
Publication Dates: 1840-Present
Searches scholarly literature in psychology, the sciences, social sciences and humanities. Also includes cited references searching.

Newspapers and First-Person Perspective

ProQuest Current Newspapers
Searches US and international news. Includes US ethnic, minority, and native presses.
ProQuest International Newsstand
Publication Dates: late 1990s-Present
Searches across the full text of international newspapers and newswires. Includes English and non-English titles. Does not include images and graphics.
Alternative Press Archive
Publication Dates: 1969-1990
Contains summaries of articles from alternative, radical and left magazines and journals. Use to research topics not covered well in the mainstream press.

Subject Guide

Régan Schwartz

she|her

Contact:

Schow Library
Room 005
rms8@williams.edu

413-597-3085

Subjects: Computer Science, Economics, Geosciences, Mathematics, Public Health, Statistics