MATH 345: Intro to Numerical Analysis: Finding Information

Numerical Analysis by Larkin Ridgway Scott Computational science is fundamentally changing how technological questions are addressed. The design of aircraft, automobiles, and even racing sailboats is now done by computational simulation. The mathematical foundation of this new approach is numerical analysis, which studies algorithms for computing expressions defined with real numbers. Emphasizing the theory behind the computation, this book provides a rigorous and self-contained introduction to numerical analysis and presents the advanced mathematics that underpin industrial software, including complete details that are missing from most textbooks. Using an inquiry-based learning approach, Numerical Analysis is written in a narrative style, provides historical background, and includes many of the proofs and technical details in exercises. Students will be able to go beyond an elementary understanding of numerical simulation and develop deep insights into the foundations of the subject. They will no longer have to accept the mathematical gaps that exist in current textbooks. For example, both necessary and sufficient conditions for convergence of basic iterative methods are covered, and proofs are given in full generality, not just based on special cases. The book is accessible to undergraduate mathematics majors as well as computational scientists wanting to learn the foundations of the subject. Presents the mathematical foundations of numerical analysis Explains the mathematical details behind simulation software Introduces many advanced concepts in modern analysis Self-contained and mathematically rigorous Contains problems and solutions in each chapter Excellent follow-up course to Principles of Mathematical Analysis by Rudin

An Introduction to Numerical Analysis by Endre Süli; D. F. Mayers This textbook is written primarily for undergraduate mathematicians and also appeals to students working at an advanced level in other disciplines. The text begins with a clear motivation for the study of numerical analysis based on real-world problems. The authors then develop the necessary machinery including iteration, interpolation, boundary-value problems and finite elements. Throughout, the authors keep an eye on the analytical basis for the work and add historical notes on the development of the subject. There are numerous exercises for students.

A Course on Integral Equations with Numerical Analysis by Tofigh Allahviranloo; Armin Esfandiari This book suggests that the numerical analysis subjects' matter are the important tools of the book topic, because numerical errors and methods have important roles in solving integral equations. Therefore, all needed topics including a brief description of interpolation are explained in the book. The integral equations have many applications in the engineering, medical, and economic sciences, so the present book contains new and useful materials about interval computations including interval interpolations that are going to be used in interval integral equations. The concepts of integral equations are going to be discussed in two directions, analytical concepts, and numerical solutions which both are necessary for these kinds of dynamic systems. The differences between this book with the others are a full discussion of error topics and also using interval interpolations concepts to obtain interval integral equations. All researchers and students in the field of mathematical, computer, and also engineering sciences can benefit the subjects of the book.

Introduction to Numerical Analysis by Arnold Neumaier Numerical analysis is an increasingly important link between pure mathematics and its application in science and technology. This textbook provides an introduction to the justification and development of constructive methods that provide sufficiently accurate approximations to the solution of numerical problems, and the analysis of the influence that errors in data, finite-precision calculations, and approximation formulas have on results, problem formulation and the choice of method. It also serves as an introduction to scientific programming in MATLAB, including many simple and difficult, theoretical and computational exercises. A unique feature of this book is the consequent development of interval analysis as a tool for rigorous computation and computer assisted proofs, along with the traditional material.

An Introduction to Numerical Methods and Analysis by James F. Epperson Praise for the First Edition ". . . outstandingly appealing with regard to its style, contents, considerations of requirements of practice, choice of examples, and exercises."--Zentralblatt MATH ". . . carefully structured with many detailed worked examples."--The Mathematical Gazette The Second Edition of the highly regarded An Introduction to Numerical Methods and Analysis provides a fully revised guide to numerical approximation. The book continues to be accessible and expertly guides readers through the many available techniques of numerical methods and analysis. An Introduction to Numerical Methods and Analysis, Second Edition reflects the latest trends in the field, includes new material and revised exercises, and offers a unique emphasis on applications. The author clearly explains how to both construct and evaluate approximations for accuracy and performance, which are key skills in a variety of fields. A wide range of higher-level methods and solutions, including new topics such as the roots of polynomials, spectral collocation, finite element ideas, and Clenshaw-Curtis quadrature, are presented from an introductory perspective, and the Second Edition also features: Chapters and sections that begin with basic, elementary material followed by gradual coverage of more advanced material Exercises ranging from simple hand computations to challenging derivations and minor proofs to programming exercises Widespread exposure and utilization of MATLAB An appendix that contains proofs of various theorems and other material The book is an ideal textbook for students in advanced undergraduate mathematics and engineering courses who are interested in gaining an understanding of numerical methods and numerical analysis.