Research Guides: HIST 404: History of Uganda: Primary Sources

Digital Collections

Empire Online
Publication Dates: 1500's-Present
Documents the rise and fall of Euro-American imperialism and de-colonization through digitized collections of written and spoken words, still images, prints, maps, and posters
HathiTrust Digital Library
Access public domain books and journals from U.S. research libraries digitized by Google, Internet Archive, and other digitization partnerships.
Center for Research Libraries Catalog
Contains holdings of difficult to obtain journals, newspapers, dissertations, and a variety of primary sources. Materials can be requested through interlibrary loan.

Internet Archive
Contains archived web pages, texts, audio, moving images, television news, and software digitized by libraries, archives, and Internet Archive users.
National Archives UK Digital Collections
5% of the National Archives have been digitized. This link will allow you to search their catalog of downloadable material.
African Online Digital Library
Free universal access to cultural heritage materials from and about African countries and communities. Tens of thousands of digitized photographs, videos, archival documents, maps, interviews and oral histories in numerous African languages.
Endangered Archives Program
Large collection of digitized primary sources from otherwise underrepresented regions in the world.
Ham Mukasa Archive
Due to the cyber attack on the British Library in October 2023, texts and documents in this archive are currently unaccessible.

FBIS (Foreign Broadcast Information Service)
Publication Dates: 1941-1996
Contains full text of English translations of foreign broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals and government statements, covering policy and politics important to US interests.
East African Newspapers
Publication Dates: 1943-2017
Provides the full text of articles from 3 English-language newspapers: Daily Nation (Kenya), The Ethiopian Herald, and The Monitor (Uganda). Can search across newspapers or browse individual newspapers by date.

Digital National Security Archive (DNSA)
Publication Dates: 1945-Present
Contains full text of declassified US government documents, primarily acquired through FOIA requests, covering U.S. foreign policy since 1945.
U.S. Declassified Documents Online
Publication Dates: 1941-current
Contains full text of declassified White House, CIA, FBI, and State Department documents from presidential libraries.