There are several ways to browse comics that are held in Special Collections.
Our library catalog contains records for books, journals, magazines, and other published media that the Williams Libraries have collected over time. To find comics in the library catalog, start by selecting "Advanced Search." From there, select the "Special Collections" button along the top, and then use the "Filters" section to narrow your search. One way to narrow your search would be to select the drop downs for "Subject" and "contains," and then type a term like "comic strip" into the search bar.
Check out the "Comics & Graphic Novels" section of this LibGuide for more information on how our library materials are organized.
Interested in the history of comics in The Williams Record? Check our our digitized collection of The Record, which runs from 1903 through 2016. For issues of The Record that were printed after 2016, you can search The Record's website.
You can also search for Special Collections materials using our archives database. Unlike most of the materials that are listed in the library catalog, many of the materials in our Special Collections archives are unpublished. Many of them are also unique objects that cannot be found in other institutions (e.g., manuscripts, photographs, correspondence, photographs, and more).
One example of a comics-related collection that you can find in our archives database is the Dean Grodzins Papers. Dean Grodzins was a Williams alum who graduated in the Class of 1983. Dean created many comics during his time at Williams, including a long-running comics series that was printed in The Record.
Use the drop-down menu on the right-hand side of the page to see a list of materials that are contained in the Dean Grodzins papers. To request any of these materials, click on the "Request" button on the upper right-hand side of the page, and submit the required information. Your requested materials will be available for you to view in the Special Collections Weber Reading Room within 1-2 business days.
The Special Collections comics that we viewed together in class are on hold in the Special Collections Weber Reading Room. Drop by any time during our Special Collections operating hours (M-F from 10am-4pm, excepting certain holidays) to view these materials.