Research Guides: MUS 151: History of Jazz: Published Interviews

Research Tip: Find Text Button

The Find Text Button

Many of our databases have this button, which searches for the full-text of the article in our collections. If we don't have it electronically, look for the "Request article scan" link in the "Get It" section.

Research Tip: Proxy Server

Researching Off Campus

Many of the resources on the A-Z Databases page are accessible anywhere you have an Internet connection. However, you will need to authenticate yourself as a Williams user.

If you need help, just ask!

Best Bet Library Databases

Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 373 current international music periodicals. Includes retrospective coverage from over 185 titles back to 1874.

Searching tips: Use the advanced search. Search for the musician's name in quotes (i.e. "Louis Armstrong") and limit to document type "interview" before hitting the search button.
RILM This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1969-Present
Includes references to articles, books, bibliographies, and other scholarly publications in music. Concert reviews and recording notes are also included.

Searching tips: Search for the musician's name in quotes (i.e. "Louis Armstrong"). In another box, add the phrase (influence* or interview*).
Readers' Guide [Combined] This link opens in a new window
Index to articles in popular, general interest magazines published in the United States and Canada. Covers 1890-present.

Searching tips: Search for the musician's name in quotes (i.e. "Louis Armstrong") and limit to document type "interview" before hitting the search button.

Need help? You can ask!

Need Help? You can ask!

Other ways to get help:

Email us

Call us at 413-597-4500

Text us at 413-648-6071

Stop by during our service hours.