Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Below is a listing of collections housed in the College Archives. Please consult the College Archivist for additional information about access and use of these collections.
Williams Strike Records, 1969-1970
The Williams Strike Central Records, 1969-1970, contain documents produced prior to and during the 1970 Williams College strike to protest the Vietnam War and the killing of four students at Kent State University.
Afro-American Studies Program, 1965-1980
The Afro-American Studies Program was designed as an interdisciplinary program to “focus on the history and culture of the Afro-American community – its roots in Africa, its experience in America, the difficulties it faces as an increasingly urban minority, socially and economically underprivileged, and the nature of the problems with which it confronts white America. (College Bulletin, 1969/70)
The Williams College Poster Collection consists of posters that date from the 1920's to the present. The largest concentration of posters can be found from the 1980's forward. This large assortment contains posters that are embossed, photocopied, silk screened, and hand crafted. The collection has been arranged into seven series: Music, Dance, Exhibits, Films, Lectures/Debates/Forums, Miscellaneous, and Theatre.
Unbound Digital Repository
The College Archives provides access to material, born digital or digitized, regardless of original format. Unbound offers a platform for sharing our oral histories, photographs, theses, syllabi, moving image material, maps, posters, manuscripts and texts.
The College Archives has a number of subject files relating to African American history at Williams. Please consult the College Archivist on how to access and use these subject files.
Hopkins Occupation, 1969
The Hopkins Occupation took place April 5-8, 1969. The College Archives has a booklet about the event (see link below), as well as a subject file. Please consult the College Archivist for information on how to access and use the booklet and subject file.
The Williams Record is the official student newspaper at Williams College. Both the College Archives and the Reference Department have indexes and complete print sets of this publication. Please consult the College Archivist or Ask A Librarian about accessing the print issues. Issues of The Record are online, see link below.
The Williams Record (digitized issues)
Publication Dates: 1904-1990
Student newspaper of Williams College.
Note: from 1972 to 1975 The Williams Record was merged with The Williams Advocate under the title RecordAdvocate.
Williams Alumni Review (now Williams Magazine)
The Williams Alumni Review, now the Williams Magazine, is the official publicaiton for Williams College Alumni and is produced by the Office of Communications. The College Archives and Sawyer Library have complete sets of this publication, as well as accompanying indexes. Please consult the College Archivist or Ask A Librarian regarding access to the print publications and indexes. Current issues of the Williams Magazine are online, see link below.
Board of Trustees Records
The College Archives has Board of Trustees Records, as well as an index to these records. Trustees Records are restricted from 1965 to present day. Any records prior to January 1965 are allowed to be used in the College Archives. Please consult the College Archivist for more information on access to these records.