Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended Reference Sources
Civil Rights in the United States
Call Number: Sawyer Reference E184.A1 C47 2000
Covering the period from 1865 to 2000, this encyclopedia features more than 700 entries on civil rights and other organizations; political and social movements; legislation and government programs; court cases; overall concepts; cultural and educational institutions; as well as, film, literature, music and art.
Encyclopedia of African-American Civil Rights
Call Number: Sawyer Reference E185.61 .E54 1992
Contains over 800 short entries on the most significant individuals, organizations, events, and court cases of the civil rights movement focusing on the period since emancipation. Entries include a selected bibliography.
The Civil Rights Movement: Reference and Resources
Call Number: Sawyer Reference E185.61 .M877 1993
An annotated bibliography of the literature about the nonviolent movement for racial integration during the years of 1955-1968. Arranged in categories: general works, collected works, states, civil rights organizations, the federal government, participants in the movement, phases of the movement, and other topics.
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present
Call Number: Sawyer Reference E185 .E5453 2009
Contains information about events, people, and topics in African American history from the 1896 "separate but equal" ruling of Plessy v. Ferguson up to the contemporary period. Entries contain a selective bibliography for further research. Volume 5 contains a thematic outline with entries listed by subjects.
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History
Covers all aspects of the African American experience from 1619 to the present day in the U.S. and throughout the Western hemisphere. Articles are signed by experts in the field and are accompanied by a selected bibliography. The appendix contains statistical data and a selection of primary source documents.