Music Cultures of the World

Need Help?

Emery Shriver
Music Librarian
mes4@williams.edu
413-597-4716
he/him/his, they/them/theirs

Research Tip: Find Text Button

The Find Text Button

Many of our databases have this SFX Find Text Button button, which searches for the full-text of the article in our collections. If we don't have it electronically, look for the "Request article scan" link in the "Get It" section.

screenshot of Get It section with link

Research Tip: Proxy Server

Researching Off Campus

Many of the resources on the A-Z Databases page are accessible anywhere you have an Internet connection. However, you will need to authenticate yourself as a Williams user

If you need help, just ask!

 

Searching the catalog

Keyword Searching
Search by keyword to find sources on your genre or country.  A keyword search looks for matches in many places, including the title, contents and subject.  This results in more matches, but some could be irrelevant.  Use the filters on the right to limit your results to a certain type of source, like books.

Example: searching for nigeria music, limited to books

Subject Browsing
Use the browse search by subject to find books on your genre or country.  A subject search looks for matches only in the subject field.  This results in fewer matches, but the matches are usually more relevant.

Example: Music -- Africa -- History and criticism

Search the Library Catalog

Find books, articles, & more

Searching subject-specific tools

Subject-specific tools include curated lists of citations from journals in a specific subject, like Music.

Using bibliographies

Using the sources consulted by other researchers can be a great way to locate useful sources.

You can start with a source you already have:

  1. Consult the footnotes, endnotes, or bibliography of the source.
  2. Search for the source in the library catalog to see if we have access to it at Williams. 
  3. Request to borrow the source from another library if we don't have it here.

You can start with a printed bibliography compiled by an expert in the field.

  • Use the bibliography at the end of an entry in a reference source.
  • Consult a book-length bibliography on your topic: