Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Best Bet Library Databases
Use the databases below to find articles on a topic.
Publication Dates: 1955-Present
Historical Time Periods: 1450-Present
Covers world history, excluding the U.S. and Canada. Includes scholarly articles, books, and dissertations.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Publication Dates: 1971-Present
Covers Asian history and culture. Includes articles, books, and book chapters.
Research Tip: Find Text Button
The Find Text Button
Many of our databases have this button, which searches for the full-text of the article in our collections. If we don't have it electronically, look for the "Request article scan" link in the "Get It" section.
If you are researching a lesser-known person or event, you may want to search full-text e-journals collections below. See also databases in related disciplines.
Provides access to articles in leading academic journals and books in the fields of humanities, social sciences and sciences.
Provides access to academic journals in the fields of humanities and social sciences.
Historical Abstracts Search Tips
- Start your search by doing keyword searches.
- Look at the subject headings of relevant records to determine the terminology used in the database for your topic.
- Combine the keywords "review article" or "historiography" with your topic to find analyses of the scholarship on your topic.
- Use the Language Limit to remove items in languages you cannot read.
- Use the Historical Period limit to narrow your search to the time period you are researching.
Bibliography of Asian Studies Search Tips
- Use the Geographic Terms field to limit to a specific country.
- Use Subject field to make search results more relevant.
- Japan -- History -- By Period -- Tokugawa (1600-1868)
- Japan -- Politics & Government
- Refine your search using the facets on the left side of the screen.