Research Guides: HIST 152: The Fourteenth Amendment and the Meanings of Equality: Secondary Sources

Finding Books, Chapters and Articles

America: History and Life
Publication Dates: 1954-Present
Historical Time Period: Prehistory-Present.
Covers the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada. Contains summaries of scholarly articles, dissertations, and book reviews.
JSTOR
Provides access to articles in leading academic journals and books in the fields of humanities, social sciences and sciences.
Project MUSE
Provides access to academic journals in the fields of humanities and social sciences.
Google Scholar
Provides access to scholarly articles, books, conference papers, and more. Modify your Google Scholar settings to access library-provided full text.

HeinOnline
Provides the full text of law reviews, Congressional and treaty documents, and U.S. legal material from the 18th century to the present.
Nexis Uni
Includes the full text of national and international news articles and transcripts, legal documents (including court cases), and company profiles.

For articles on a specific court case:

On the basic search screen, choose the Citation search tab and enter the citation for the case in the search box (e.g., 169 U.S. 649).
This search will bring up the text of the case. To get articles that cite the case, click the Cited By link.
On the results screen, choose Articles under Section Type. Use other facets to further refine your search.

For articles on a topic:

Click the Advanced Search link to get more search options.
Search in the Text field for keywords. Capitalize Boolean operators (AND, OR) and put phrases in "quotation marks."
To search specific dates, use the Date limit.
Under "Section Types To Search" (at the bottom of the screen), click Uncheck All button and choose Articles.
On the results screen, use facets on the left to further refine your search.

Enter citation (e.g. 169 U.S. 649) and/or keywords in the search box.
To limit to specific dates, click the down arrow next to Advanced Options.

Start your search by doing keyword searches.
Look at the subject headings of relevant records to determine the terminology used in the database for your topic.
Combine the keywords "review article" or "historiography" with your topic to find analyses of the scholarship on your topic.
Use the Language Limit to remove items in languages you cannot read.
For America: History and Life:
- Use the Historical Period limit to narrow your search to the time period you are researching.