Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Searching for new articles
Articles published in journals, magazines or newspapers are indexed in Periodical Databases. You can search these databases by topic to get a list of articles. Below are the top recommended databases for this resesarch paper.
Best Bet Library Databases
Index to peer-reviewed articles, conference proceedings and book reviews published in sociology journals. The first place to start when looking for scholarly articles written by sociologists. More information goes here
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
Index to journal articles in social sciences. Broad coverage of international materials. Also includes references to books, reviews and book chapters. A good complement to Sociological Abstracts.
Index to peer-reviewed articles published in scholarly anthropology journals. Strong coverage in sociology.
Index to peer-reviewed articles from psychology journals. Good coverage for social psychology and sociology. Also includes references to book chapters and conference papers.
Index to peer-reviewed articles in the field of history. Focuses on historical topics outside of North America.
America: History and Life
Index to scholarly articles in the field of North American history. Also includes references to reviews and book chapters.
Multi-disciplinary index to peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and other scholarly literature. Includes the full-text of publications freely available on the web and citations for materials published by commercial publishers. Includes links directly into library electronic journals.
Index to peer-eviewed (scholarly) articles in the field of philosophy. Also includes selected book chapters.
Research Tip: Find Text Button
The Find Text Button
Many of our databases have this button, which searches for the full-text of the article in our collections. If we don't have it electronically, look for the "Request article scan" link in the "Get It" section.
Finding articles listed in bibliographies
When you already a complete citation to an article, use the Citation Linker (on the library web page, under the Articles section) to locate it in the library or borrow it from another library.