Research Guides: How to Find Images: Finding Images Online

Need Help? Just ask!

Don't want to chat? See: Other ways to get help

Library of Congress Digital Collections This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1700's-Present
Documents American history and culture through digitized collections of written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music from the Library of Congress.

LIFE Photo Archive
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.
Mary Evans Picture Library
Licenses images for commercial use in books, newspapers, magazines, advertisements, and web sites. In addition to their own picture collection, they represent more than 350 collections including the Illustrated London News, Ronald Grant Archive of Film and Cinematic Memorabilia, and Harper's Bazaar.
New York Public Library Digital Gallery
Extensive collection of images from materials in NYPL's collections. Includes photographs, images of artifacts, maps, book jackets, etc.
U.S. National Archives on Flickr
Browse and download over 16,000 photos from NARA collections.

Creative Commons Search
Find content you can share, use, and remix.
Free media resources
A large list of freely licensed and public domain images from Wikimedia Commons
NARA Photography Resources
A large list of photography sites compiled by the U.S. National Archives.
Wikimedia Commons
a database of over 28 million freely usable media files.