Research Guides: Doing Research in Art History: Exhibition Records and Reviews

Ask Sawyer

Need Help? You can ask!

Other ways to get help:

Stop by during our service hours.

Finding Exhibition Records

If the exhibition record in the catalogue raisonné is scanty, you may need to consult media sources from the time to find a record of a temporary exhibition. The following sources can help you find articles or reviews:

Historical Sources:

Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1929-1984
Includes brief information about scholarly articles in art, architecture, and other related subjects, published before 1984. Emphasis on Western art.
Index to 19th-Century American Art Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1800-1899
Contains brief information about articles, art notes, stories, poems, and advertisements found in 42 art journals published in the U.S. during the 19th century.
Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1890-1982
Includes brief information about articles from popular and general interest magazines published in the U.S. and Canada. Also includes book reviews.

Times (London) Digital Archive
Publication Dates: 1785-2012
Contains full content of the newspaper including advertisements, editorials, reviews, stock exchange tables, and weather reports. Limit your search to "Articles With Illustrations" or select "Picture Gallery" for photographs only.

Contemporary Sources:

Art Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1984-Present
Includes summaries of scholarly articles in art, architecture, and other related subjects, with an emphasis on Western art. Search by movement, artist, artwork, or topic.
caa.reviews This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1998-Present
Contains critical reviews of books, exhibitions, and projects in all areas and periods of art history and visual studies.
Nexis Uni - News This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text articles from U.S. national and regional news sources as well as English-language news sources from around the world.
ProQuest Current Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searches US and international news. Includes US ethnic, minority, and native presses.