CHEM 101: Concepts of Chemistry: Finding Spectra

The authors travel with the reader through the challenging maze of structure determination, showing how to distinguish between valuable and deceiving data from IR, NMR and MS spectra, extracting structural conclusions and putting all the pieces together to solve the structure elucidation puzzle. Indeed, human reasoning is key to combining the information contained in those bands, signals and peaks by a rationale that enables the makeup of a chemical structure. A number of increasingly more complex problems will act as trip segments and, in addition to the spectra themselves, each chapter is supplemented with figures and tables that decipher the above data and serve as maps for the journey.

Originally published in 1962, this was the first book to explore teh identification of organic compounds using spectroscopy. It provides a thorough introduction to the three areas of spectrometry most widely used in spectrometric identification: mass spectrometry, infrared spectrometry, and nuclear magnetic resonance spectrometry. A how-to, hands-on teaching manual with considerably expanded NMR coverage--NMR spectra can now be intrepreted in exquisite detail. This book: * Uses a problem-solving approach with extensive reference charts and tables. * Offers an extensive set of real-data problems offers a challenge to the practicing chemist

This book compiles reference material for NMR, IR, UV/Vis and mass spectra since the combined interpretation of spectra of the different methods is advantageous. It can be used in three ways: as compact and easy to understand companion material, to complement the understanding of detailed textbooks, as an easy to use reference book.

Extensively revised and updated, this new edition, as in previous editions, emphasizes the point that the most important part of learning how to interpret unknown mass spectra is to practice interpreting mass spectra.

Offering a molecular perspective not available 20 years ago, it provides physical and chemical data on proteins, nucleic acids, lipids, and carbohydrates. Presented in an organized, concise, and simple-to-use format, this popular reference allows quick access to the most frequently used data. Covering a wide range of topics, from classical biochemistry to proteomics and genomics, it also details the properties of commonly used biochemicals, laboratory solvents, and reagents.

This three volume set includes over 18,000 spectra categorized by chemical functionality and arranged in order of increasing structural complexity. All spectra were run in the Aldrich quality control laboratories and confirmed by other spectroscopic and chromatographic analyses. The library includes extensive cross-references by chemical name, molecular formula, CAS number, and Aldrich catalog number.

This necessary desk reference for every practicing spectroscopist represents the first definitive book written specifically to integrate knowledge about group frequencies in infrared as well as Raman spectra. In the spirit of previous classics developed by Bellamy and others, this volume has expanded its scope and updated its coverage. In addition to detailing characteristic group frequencies of compounds from a comprehensive assortment of categories, the book includes a collection of spectra and a literature search conducted to verify existing correlations and to determine ways to enhance correlations between vibrational frequencies and molecular structure. Particular attention has been given to the correlation between Raman characteristic frequencies and molecular structure. Constitutes a necessary reference for every practicing vibrational spectroscopist Provides the new definitive text on characteristic frequencies of organic molecules Incorporates group frequencies for both infrared and Raman spectra Details the characteristic IR and Raman frequencies of compounds in more than twenty major categories Includes an extensive collection of spectra Compiled by internationally recognized experts

This three volume set of 12,000 high-resolution 75MHz 13C and 300MHz 1H FT-NMR spectra is arranged according to functionality. The Library contains CNMR and HNMR spectra of 11,828 organic compounds as well as information about their physico-chemical properties.

Volumes 1-4 and 7 are available at Schow.