Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Literature Criticism Online
Publication Dates: 1400-Present
Contains reprints of scholarly criticism and popular commentary on literary works. Includes contemporary reviews as well as recent scholarship.
MLA International Bibliography
Publication Dates: 1926-Present
Covers language, literature, linguistics, and related areas such as film and television. Includes references to journal articles, book chapters, and dissertations.
Library Catalog Search Strategies
When searching for literary scholarship, the best search strategy is to use the subject heading History and Criticism and combine it with your topic For example:
Encyclopedia of World Literature in the 20th Century by
Covering aspects of literature of the 20th century, this reference title includes more than 2000 entries on authors, 50 national surveys that review the literature of countries around the world and 50 additional entries that discuss topics, such as genres, movements and trends.
Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature by
Encyclopedic guide to the authors, works, and topics crucial to the literature of Central and South America and the Caribbean. Entries are written by experts in the field of Latin American studies.
Hispanic Literature Criticism by
Includes: critical opinion on the author and their work; bibliographies, chronology of principal works, biographical and career details; and further reading.