Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Best Bet Library Databases
The following are the recommended library databases to search for scholarly materials (ariticles, essays, book chapters) on the subject of Latin American Literature. You can search for general subjects such as Latin American Literature, or you can search for authors and/or titles of works.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Core database for literary research. Includes references to journal articles, book chapters, and dissertations.
Searches may be limited to a historical time period and to sources in Spanish.
To find articles about an author, use the search field "Primary Subject Author" (SA)
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1400-Present
Contains reprints of scholarly criticism and popular commentary on literary works. Includes contemporary reviews as well as recent scholarship.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1953-Present
Historical Time Period: 15th century-Present
Covers world history and culture (excluding U.S. and Canada). Contains summaries of scholarly articles, books, and more.
Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1936-Present
Includes references to articles and books on topics related to Latin America. This is a bibliography: it only includes the citation, no abstract and no text. To get the full-text use the Find Text button. For many of these sources you will need to use Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) to borrow from other libraries.
, Arabic Studies
, Comparative Literature
, Romance Languages
, Science and Technology Studies