Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Government website designed to share information.
Foundation for AIDS research.
Database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world.
Health information for the consumer.
Variety of health information as well as links to clinical trials.
Wealth of resources including reports and statistics.
International source for health related topics and statistics.
About Reference Resources
The reference collection is an excellent place to begin your research if you want a quick and easy way to find:
- ideas for your paper
- a summary of a topic
- a list of recommended resources
- factual information.
When you find a reference book:
- Scan the table of contents to see how it is organized.
- Note its publication date to determine currency of the information.
- Use the index to locate your topic within the book.
Key Reference Resources
AIDS Sourcebook by
Call Number: Schow Ref RC606.64 .A337 2011
Publication Date: 2011-06-14
Provides updated information about HIV and AIDS and how it is transmitted, diagnosed, and treated.
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine by
Call Number: Schow Ref RC41 .G35 2002
Publication Date: 2011-06-01
Each article includes in-depth discussion of causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and other related topics.
Goodman and Gilman's the Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics by
Call Number: Schow Ref RM300 .G644 2001
Publication Date: 2001-08-13
The objective of this textbook/ reference work is to provide a comprehensive and up-to-date correlation of pharmacology with related medical sciences, a reinterpretation of the actions and uses of drug from the view point of the latest advances in medicine and pace emphasis on the application of pharmacodynamics to therapeutics.
Encyclopedia of Virology by
Call Number: Schow Ref QR358 .E53 2008
Publication Date: 2008-08-01
Unique in its use of concise "mini-review" articles, this work covers biological, molecular, and medical topics concerning viruses in animals, plants, bacteria and insects. Extensive coverage on AIDS and HIV, viral immunology and vaccines, the economic importance and control of virus diseases, and the origin, history, evolution and phylogeny of viruses.
Statistical Handbook on Infectious Diseases by
Call Number: Schow Ref RA643 .W33 2003
Publication Date: 2003-02-28
Designed to offer a comprehensive statistical overview of the status of infectious disease worldwide. A carefully selected array of tables and charts present authoritative statistical information, placing valuable statistics into context with introductory text. Detailed source information in each table, figure, and chart allows the user to pursue further information and uncover the stories behind the numbers.