Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research Tip: Find Text Button
The Find Text Button
Many of our databases have this button, which searches for the full-text of the article in our collections. If we don't have it electronically, look for the "Request article scan" link in the "Get It" section.
Research Tip: Proxy Server
Best Bet Library Databases
Publication Dates: 1984-Present
Includes summaries of scholarly articles in art, architecture, and other related subjects, with an emphasis on Western art. Search by movement, artist, artwork, or topic.
Art Index Retrospective
Publication Dates: 1929-1984
Includes brief information about scholarly articles in art, architecture, and other related subjects, published before 1984. Emphasis on Western art.
Publication Dates: 1979-Present
Includes summaries of journal articles, books, and essays about 20th- and 21st-century art.
Oxford Art Online
Provides access to the Grove Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, among other titles. Includes information on all aspects of art and an image collection.
Searches across a wide variety of types of sources including scholarly journals, magazines, historical and current newspapers, dissertations, and more. Coverage is multidisciplinary. Great place to start a research project.