Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Publicly Available Health Information Resources
On this page, you can find links to and descriptions of trustworthy health information resources that are available to the general public. If you have any questions about accessing or using them, please feel free to reach out to a librarian near you!
Research Tip: Unpaywall
Unpaywall is an open database of millions of free scholarly articles. It includes open access content from over 50,000 publishers and repositories, and makes it easy to find, track, and use.
After you install the browser extension
, look for the icon to see if what you want is available for free.
The Brien Center
The Brien Center
The Brien Center for Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services is a community-based, non-profit agency with a 90 plus year history of providing a continuum of care for children, adolescents, adults and families who suffer from serious and persistent behavioral health disorders. We are guided by the belief that everyone in Berkshire County benefits when people are mentally, physically and emotionally healthy.
Direct-to-Consumer Genetic Testing
Are you considering signing up for a service like 23andMe, or AncestryDNA? Keep in mind the potential privacy, security, ethical, and societal issues that may come with making your genetic information available to companies. The National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) consumer health resource, Genetics Home Reference, has expanded its Direct-to-Consumer Genetic Testing content to provide more in-depth coverage of this popular topic.
National Institutes of Health (NIH) and National Network of Libraries of Medicine (NNLM)
The National Institutes of Health (NIH) seek fundamental knowledge about the nature and behavior of living systems and the application of that knowledge to enhance health, lengthen life, and reduce illness and disability.
The National Network of Libraries of Medicine (NNLM) aims to advance the progress of medicine and improve public health by providing U.S. health professionals with equal access to biomedical information and improving individuals' access to information to enable them to make informed decisions about their health.
All Of Us
Through this collaboration, the National Network of Libraries of Medicine (NNLM) focuses on consumer access of high quality health information to Underrepresented in Biomedical Research communities throughout the United States while raising awareness of precision medicine and the importance of the NIH All of Us Research Program to enhance medical breakthroughs and advance individualized treatment, prevention, and care for all of us.
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.
PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). PubMed comprises over 29 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.
ClinicalTrials.gov is a Web-based resource that provides patients, their family members, health care professionals, researchers, and the public with easy access to information on publicly and privately supported clinical studies on a wide range of diseases and conditions. ClinicalTrials.gov contains information about medical studies in human volunteers.
Genetics Home Reference
Genetics Home Reference provides consumer-friendly information about the effects of genetic variation on human health.
National Human Genome Research Institute
As a leading authority in the field of genomics, NHGRI's mission is to accelerate scientific and medical breakthroughs that improve human health. They drive cutting-edge research, develop new technologies, and study the impact of genomics on society. Be sure to look at the "Educational Resources" and "Policy Issues in Genomics" links under "About Genomics."
Pillbox, an initiative of the National Library of Medicine at the National Institutes of Health, provides data and images for prescription, over-the-counter, homeopathic, and veterinary oral solid dosage medications (pills) marketed in the United States. This data set contains information about pills such as how they look, their active and inactive ingredients, and many other criteria.
When making decisions about your health, it’s important to know where to go to get the latest, most reliable information. healthfinder.gov has resources on a wide range of health topics selected from approximately 1,400 government and non-profit organizations to bring you the best, most reliable health information on the Internet.
Choosing Wisely: Making Smart Decisions about Genetic Testing
Genetic testing can help identify an inherited condition or disease risk. Genetic testing may also tell you which family members are at risk. But sometimes a genetic test is not the best way to find an inherited condition or disease risk. A routine blood test or procedure might be just as good. And it might be less costly and more easily available. This guide helps patients decipher whether or not genetic testing may be appropriate, feasible, affordable, and useful.
medRxiv is a preprint server for the clinical research community launching June 25th 2019. It will allow researchers to share manuscripts before they are peer-reviewed and published in academic journals, facilitating early dissemination of new findings and enabling authors to receive feedback that helps improve the final published article.
World Health Organization
WHO works worldwide to promote health, keep the world safe, and serve the vulnerable. Their goal is to ensure that a billion more people have universal health coverage, to protect a billion more people from health emergencies, and provide a further billion people with better health and well-being. On their website, find information about global health issues, specific epidemic diseases, and the intersections between disease and society.
The Mayo Clinic
Mayo Clinic's mission is to inspire hope and contribute to health and well-being by providing the best care to every patient through integrated clinical practice, education and research. Its website provides detailed information on diseases and conditions and their treatments, and a symptom checker.