Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Your focus with this class will be to find chemical information and data for your lab reports and problem sets.
Information can be categorized as primary, secondary, or tertiary depending on how and when it was created. Review the pdf to see what types of chemical information fall into each of these categories.
About Reference Resources
The reference collection is an excellent place to begin your research if you want a quick and easy way to find:
- ideas for your paper
- a summary of a topic
- a list of recommended resources
- factual information.
When you find a reference book:
- Scan the table of contents to see how it is organized.
- Note its publication date to determine currency of the information.
- Use the index to locate your topic within the book.
Chemistry Reference Sources
Key reference titles in Chemistry are listed below. These titles are located in the reference section at the Schow Science Library (bottom of the stairs, to the left) or online. Browse table of contents and indexes....you never know what you might find!
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 98th Edition by
Publication Date: 2017-06-23
An authoritative resource consisting of tables of data and current international recommendations on nomenclature, symbols, and units, its usefulness spans not only the physical sciences but also related areas of biology, geology, and environmental science.
Kirk Othmer's Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology by
Publication Date: 2004-03-29
The Encyclopedia describes established technology along with cutting edge topics of interest in the field of chemistry. It presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances, properties, manufacturing, uses, industrial processes, unit operations in chemical engineering, and on fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field.
Lange's Handbook of Chemistry by
Publication Date: 2005-01-10
A standard reference for chemists, the Sixteenth Edition features an enormous compilation of facts, data, tabular material, and experimental findings in every area of chemistry. Included are listings of the properties of approximately 4,400 organic and 1,400 inorganic compounds.
Oxford Dictionary of Chemistry by
Publication Date: 2008-04-15
With over 4,300 entries this dictionary covers all aspects of chemistry, from physical chemistry to biochemistry. There are also biographical entries on key figures, highlighted entries on major topics such as polymers and crystal defects, and a chronology charting the main discoveries in atomic theory, biochemistry, explosives, and plastics.
Thermochemical Data of Elements and Compounds by
Publication Date: 2002-12-03
This book contains selected values of the thermochemical properties of over 3000 mostly inorganic substances. Values are given for enthalpy of formation and entropy at 298 K.