Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Your focus with this class will be to find chemical information and data for your lab reports and problem sets.
Information can be categorized as primary, secondary, or tertiary depending on how and when it was created. Review the pdf to see what types of chemical information fall into each of these categories.
Reserve items for this course are located at the Schow Services Desk (in the front doors, to the right). Click for a list of items on reserve.
About Reference Resources
The reference collection is an excellent place to begin your research if you want a quick and easy way to find:
- ideas for your paper
- a summary of a topic
- a list of recommended resources
- factual information.
When you find a reference book:
- Scan the table of contents to see how it is organized.
- Note its publication date to determine currency of the information.
- Use the index to locate your topic within the book.
Chemistry Reference Sources
Key reference titles in Chemistry are listed below. These titles are located in the reference section at the Schow Science Library (bottom of the stairs, to the left) or online. Reference titles provide general overviews, subdivided into more detailed information. A bibliography, which will provide additional resources, can usually be found at the end of each entry. Browse table of contents and indexes....you never know what you might find!
- Comprehensive Handbook of Chemical Bond Energies [Schow Ref QD461 .L86 2007]
- Comprehensive Organometallic Chemistry, Vol 5 [LSF]
- Comprehensive Coordination Chemistry II [Schow Ref QD474 .C65 2004]
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics [Schow Ref QD 65 .H3]
- Dictionary of Inorganic Compounds [Schow Ref QD148 .D53 1992]
- Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry [Schow Ref QD148 .E53 2005]
- Handbook of Bond Dissociation Energies in Organic Compounds [Schow Ref QD461 .L86 2007]
- Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology [Schow Ref TP9.E685]
- Merck Index [Schow Ref RS51 .M4 2006]
- Thermochemical Data of Elements and Compounds [Schow Ref QD511.8 .B56 2002]