Research Guides: Chemistry 341: Reference

About Reference Resources

Reference materials provide general overviews and introductions to the topic, and are subdivided into more detailed information. A bibliography, which will provide additional resources, can be found at the end of each entry. Reference books at Schow can be found down the stairs to the left. The QD call number is assigned to Chemistry resources. Browse table of contents and indexes....you never know what you might find!

Key Resources

Burger's Medicinal Chemistry, Drug Discovery and Development by Donald J. Abraham; David P. Rotella
ISBN: 9780470278154
Publication Date: 2010-10-19
Burger's provides an established, recognized, authoritative, and comprehensive source on medicinal chemistry and drug discovery and development. It incorporates the entire process of drug development (preclinical testing, clinical trials, etc.) alongside the traditional strengths in medicinal chemistry and drug discovery.
Comprehensive Toxicology by I. G. Sipes (Editor); Charlene A. McQueen (Editor); A. J. Gandolfi (Editor)
Call Number: http://francis.williams.edu/record=b1522098~S0
ISBN: 0080423019
Publication Date: 1997-06-17
Designed to encompass toxic investigation from a molecular level to the intact organism. Presented in a 13-volume printed form.
Dictionary of Inorganic Compounds by Jane E. MacIntyre (Editor)
ISBN: 0412301202
Publication Date: 1992-07-23
Organized according to empirical name and indexed by name, structural type, and CAS Registry number. Each entry includes: compound name, synonyms, physical description, CAS Registry number, weight, structural type with a diagram or description, source or synthesis, stability, solubility, melting and boiling points, sublimation conditions, and vapor pressure. Includes hazards and references.
Dictionary of Organic Compounds by John B. Buckingham (Editor); Finlay J. MacDonald (Editor)
ISBN: 0412540908
Publication Date: 1995-10-01
This dictionary of organic compounds should be of interest to chemists, biochemists, biologists and pharmacologists working within academic, industrial or governmental organizations.
Encyclopedia of Toxicology by Philip Wexler (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 9780123864543
Publication Date: 2014-03-24
Along with the traditional scientific entries, new articles focus on worldwide initiatives, the potential health and environmental effects of new technologies, and the societal implications of global legal and regulatory issues. Provides easy access to content on chemicals and all core areas of toxicology.
Kirk Othmer's Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology by Wiley-Interscience Publication Staff (Editor); Kirk-Othmer (Editor)
ISBN: 0471484946
Publication Date: 2004-03-29
The Encyclopedia describes established technology along with cutting edge topics of interest in the field of chemistry. It presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances, properties, manufacturing, uses, industrial processes, unit operations in chemical engineering, and on fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field.
The Merck Index by Maryadele J. O'Neil (Editor)
ISBN: 9781849736701
Publication Date: 2013-04-30
The definitive reference work for those looking for authoritative information on chemicals, drugs, and biologicals. The Merck Index contains over 10,000 drugs with information relating to compounds of significance in research, commerce, and industry.
Physicians' Desk Reference 2014 by PDR Staff
ISBN: 9781563638251
Publication Date: 2015
The authoritative source on prescription drugs. PDR contains full, FDA-approved drug label information, including warnings and precautions, drug interactions, and hundreds of full-color pill images. Every label in the PDR includes information on dosages, side effects, and safety information. Data on clinical trials are also included.