Research Guides: Chinese 422T: Scholarly Articles

Best Bet Library Databases

Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1971-Present
Covers topics in Asian history and culture for all historical time periods. Searches authors, titles, and subjects of articles, books, and book chapters.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Searches across a wide variety of types of sources including scholarly journals, magazines, historical and current newspapers, dissertations, and more. Coverage is multidisciplinary. Great place to start a research project.
Note: for scholarly articles, be sure to select the "scholarly journals" Source Type limit in your search results.

Subject-Specific Databases

After searching in the "Best Bets" databases, be sure to search in the subject-specific databases devoted to the area of study for your topic.

Language and linguistics topics, search the Linguistics databases.
Literary and media topics, see the English databases.
Anthropological and ethnographic topics, try the Anthropology databases.
Historical topics, consult the History databases.

For other areas, choose your subject area on our full A-Z database list.

Research Tip: Find Text Button

The Find Text Button

Many of our databases have this button, which searches for the full-text of the article in our collections. If we don't have it electronically, look for the "Request article scan" link in the "Get It" section.

Articles in Chinese

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
To find articles in Chinese, use Chinese characters when searching or go to Settings to change the language of your search results. Look for the "Check for Fulltext @ WCL" link for library-provided full text.

CNKI: China Knowledge Resource Integrated Database
Allows free searching across databases of Chinese academic journals, dissertations, theses, newspapers, conference papers and more. See also the list of single search databases.
Note: Williams does not have a subscription to this resource; use ILLiad to request materials.