Research Guides: Economics 203: Newspapers

Newspaper and News Databases

ProQuest Historical Newspapers (US)
Searches across the full text and images of major U.S. and Black historical newspapers. Includes New York Times, Boston Globe, Chicago Defender, L.A. Times, and more.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers (International)
Searches across the full text of Chinese Historical Newspapers, The Guardian and Observer, Jerusalem Post, and Times of India.
FBIS (Foreign Broadcast Information Service)
Publication Dates: 1941-1996
Contains full text of English translations of foreign broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals and government statements, covering policy and politics important to US interests.
ProQuest Current Newspapers
Searches US and international news. Includes US regional newspapers and BIPOC presses. Coverage starts in the 1980s or later.
Nexis Uni - News
Provides access to full-text articles from U.S. national and regional news sources as well as English-language news sources from around the world.

Google News Archive
Although Google is no longer digitizing historic newspapers, many newspapers can still be found in their archive. This link provides an alphabetical list of titles included.

For additional newspaper resources, see our How to Find Newspaper Articles guide,

Think like a journalist. What words would they use?
Use the vocabulary in use at the time. (e.g., Negroes instead of African American)
Combine synonyms with OR to increase results. (e.g., conservatives OR right-wing)
Use the asterisk (*) to get multiple endings of a word. (e.g., integrat* for integrate, integration, integrating, etc.)
To get words closer together, use proximity operators. (See the database's help page for correct syntax.)
Limit your search to "abstract" or "citation and abstract" (if available) to get more precise results.