Research Guides: Economics 203: Statistics/Data

Statistical Databases - US

Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition
Provides summaries of U.S. social, economic, and education statistics from colonial times to 2000.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Publication Dates: 1878-2012
Contains summaries of U.S. social, economic, health, population, and educational statistics. The first stop for U.S. statistics.

Population, Employment, & Labor Markets
ALFRED historical database from the Federal Reserves provides detailed historical statistics about the US and its economy. This set focuses on labor issues.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics provides historical data on occupations, the labor market, wages, etc.
Century of Change
This overview by the BLS provides an interesting discussion of the labor force from 1950 and projects trends into 2050.
Women at Work
Published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics in 2011, this report highlights the past, present, and future of women in the workforce. Includes historical tables on employment in US industries and labor force participation rate by country.

DataBank
Contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics, including worldwide gender statistics. Maintained by the World Bank.
SourceOECD
Publication Dates: 1998-Present
Contains economic publications and statistics published by OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development).

OECD Historical Statistics 2000
Provides an overview of the economic development of the Member countries of the OECD since 1970. Includes tables on population and labor force.
International Historical Statistics, 1750-2010
Online edition of the three-volume set containing key economic and social indicators for Asia, Africa, and Oceania; The Americas; and Europe. Serves as an essential reference source for hard-to-find historical statistics and as a tool for comparisons between countries and across time.
International Historical Statistics - Africa, Asia and Oceania, 1750-2005
Call Number: Sawyer Reference HA4675 .M552 2007
Provides key economic and social indicators for countries in Africa, Asia, and Oceania from 1750 to 2005.
International Historical Statistics - The Americas, 1750-2000
Call Number: Sawyer Reference HA175 .M55 2003
Provides key economic and social indicators for countries on the American continent from 1750 to 2000.
International Historical Statistics - Europe, 1750-2005
Call Number: Sawyer Reference HA1107 .M5 2007
Provides key economic and social indicators for European countries over 255 years.